With the closure, for an unknown period, of many public and religious buildings, it's probably safe to assume that few, if any, of the recitals listed here will take place – at least in the immediate future. However, you can click on the 'view' link (at the end of an entry) to see that concert on the website's Main Section and, then, use the 'location & enquiries' link to contact the venue and check if its concerts are still going ahead. Some recitals that were listed have now been hidden from view. They may be re-instated as-and-when the situation becomes clearer.

organrecitals.com [section home page]
SHROPSHIRE [prev.] [next]

1. Bank Holiday Monday 13 April 12:00 to 12:45 Shrewsbury Abbey [organ] Shropshire SY2 6BS [map]Nigel Pursey (Shrewsbury Abbey)admission free / retiring collection [view]

2. Friday 17 April 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Andrew Kirk (St Mary Redcliffe)admission free / retiring collection [view]

3. Sunday 19 April 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Stephen Austin (Poulton-Le-Fylde, Lancashire)admission £7 / members £6 [view]

4. Tuesday 5 May 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Anthony Pinel (St Chad's, Shrewsbury)admission free / retiring collection [view]

5. Friday 15 May 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Philip Rushforth (Chester Cathedral)admission free / retiring collection [view]

6. Sunday 17 May 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Phil Kelsall (Tower Ballroom, Blackpool) [web] admission £7 / members £6 [view]

7. Wednesday 27 May 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Christopher Pilsbury (St Giles', Wrexham)admission free / retiring collection [view]

8. Tuesday 2 June 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Roger Judd (St Laurence, Ludlow)admission free / retiring collection [view]

9. Wednesday 3 June 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Scott Phillips (Ellesmere College)admission free / retiring collection [view]

10. Wednesday 10 June 12:30 to 1:15 A Concert featuring the new Chamber OrganSt Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Gerry Howe with local musicians the Nex family.admission free / retiring collection [view]

11. Friday 12 June 7:00 Wrekin College Chapel, Wellington [organ] Shropshire TF1 3BL [map]Anthony Pinel (St Chad's, Shrewsbury)admission £5 [view]

12. Wednesday 17 June 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Fay Adamson (St Asaph)admission free / retiring collection [view]

13. Sunday 21 June 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Mark Laflin and Aaron Hawthorneadmission £7 / members £6 [view]

14. Wednesday 24 June 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Colin Porter (Mossley Hill Parish Church)admission free / retiring collection [view]

15. Friday 26 June 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Sara Musemuci (Sicily)admission free / retiring collection [view]

16. Saturday 27 June 7:30 to 9:30 The Veronica Donkin Memorial RecitalSt Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]George Robey (Holmes Chapel, Cheshire)admission free / retiring collection [view]

17. Wednesday 1 July 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Richard Walker (St Chad's, Shrewsbury)admission free / retiring collection [view]

18. Tuesday 7 July 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Peter King (Bath Abbey – Organist Emeritus) [web] admission free / retiring collection [view]

19. Wednesday 8 July 12:30 to 1:15 St Oswald's, Oswestry [organ] Shropshire SY11 2SY [map]Gerry Howe (St Oswald's, Oswestry)admission free / retiring collection [view]

20. Friday 17 July 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Colin Andrews (Indiana University, USA)admission free / retiring collection [view]

21. Sunday 19 July 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Nicholas Martin [web] admission £7 / members £6 [view]

22. Saturday 25 July 1:00 to 2:00 St Laurence, Ludlow [organ] Shropshire SY8 1AN [map]Stephen Power (Brecon Cathedral)admission free / retiring collection [view]

23. Tuesday 4 August 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Shean Bowers (Bath Abbey)admission free / retiring collection [view]

24. Sunday 16 August 2:30 to 5:00 Founders' ConcertThe Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Alec Walters (Wigan)admission £7 / members £6 [view]

25. Friday 21 August 12:40 to 1:20 St Chad's, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 1JX [map]Paul Carr (Birmingham) [web] admission free / retiring collection [view]

26. Saturday 22 August 1:00 to 2:00 St Laurence, Ludlow [organ] Shropshire SY8 1AN [map]Paul Carr (Birmingham) [web] admission free / retiring collection [view]

27. Sunday 20 September 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Simon Gledhill (London)admission £7 / members £6 [view]

28. Sunday 18 October 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Robert Wolfe (The Thursford Collection)admission £7 / members £6 [view]

29. Sunday 15 November 2:30 to 5:00 The Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map]Nigel Ogden (Concert Organist)admission £7 / members £6 [view]

30. Sunday 20 December 2:30 to 5:00 Christmas ConcertThe Buttermarket, Shrewsbury [organ] Shropshire SY1 2LF [map] Damon Willetts, Cameron Lloyd, Michael Carter, Alec Walters, David Lobban.admission £7 / members £6 [view]

N.B. This section contains only limited information. Click on a recital's "view" link to see its full details in the main section.
[top of page] [section home page] [main section]